MadCAP Improvisation


Print

Quick Facts!

  • Location: CAP Theatre (fall and winter), Haines Park (spring and summer)
  • Admission: $5 Cash ONLY
  • Drop-Off/Pick-Up: Parents will drop off and pick up their kids from inside the theatre or at the amphitheatre at Haines Park.
  • Notes: Students should bring their own water bottle, but some water bottles will be available on-site. Concessions will be available for $1.00 each.

MadCAP Improv is a wild, fast-paced improvisation games workshop for young adults in grades 6-12! Join us monthly for a two-hour workshop where students will learn to trust themselves and others while embracing spontaneity and exploring the essential elements of telling the greatest unknown story. Students will explore the basic tenets of improvisation from “Yes, And” to “giving gifts” to “Name/Location/Action.” This foundational knowledge will prepare students for future forays into the world of improvisation and help them develop confidence in the power of their voice and imagination. We also focus on laughter, fun, and genuine social connection. As we often tell the students, a key element of improvisation is making soul-connecting eye contact. We do that and more, all while playing ridiculous games and exercises that create amazing stories. If your student is interested, the only thing they must do is say “Yes, And!”

For information about the educational components of MadCAP Improvisation, please view the MadCAP Syllabus and MadCAP Unit Plan.

*Tickets are $5.00 at the door (CASH ONLY) and concessions available.

Saturday, January 21, 20236:00pm – 8:00pm – @ CAP Theatre
Saturday, February 18, 20236:00pm – 8:00pm – @ CAP Theatre
Saturday, March 18, 20236:00pm – 8:00pm – @ CAP Theatre
Saturday, April 15, 20236:00pm – 8:00pm – @ CAP Theatre
Saturday, May 20, 20236:00pm – 8:00pm – @ Haines Park
Saturday, June 17, 20236:00pm – 8:00pm – @ Haines Park
Saturday, July 15, 20236:00pm – 8:00pm – @ Haines Park
Saturday, August 19, 20236:00pm – 8:00pm – @ Haines Park
Saturday, September 16, 20236:00pm – 8:00pm – @ Haines Park
Saturday, October 21, 20236:00pm – 8:00pm – @ CAP Theatre
Saturday, November 18, 20236:00pm – 8:00pm – @ CAP Theatre
Saturday, December 16, 20236:00pm – 8:00pm – @ CAP Theatre